Sunday, August 10, 2014
Roy Whalen Heritage Museum
Deer Lake was founded in 1922, as a company run logging town, but now it’s main functions are to supply hydroelectric power to the paper mill located downstream at Corner Brook and provide services for tourists and local communities. The little museum is filled with donated historic items including three life sized carvings. The gift shops sells crafts and handmade quilts, mittens, sweaters and placemats.
The museum and shop are accessible but a little metal ramp bridging the threshold that makes entering a bit difficult.
The parking lot is large enough for any RV. Museum