Sunday, August 10, 2014
Railroad Society of Newfoundland
For 90 years, beginning in 1898, a narrow gauge railroad ran from Port aux Basques to St. John providing the only means of traveling across the interior of Newfoundland. When the Trans-Canada Highway was completed in 1965 rail traffic dropped significantly and by 1988 the railway was abandoned. There isn’t a lot at this museum other than the rolling stock located outside - a steam locomotive, a huge snow plow train, a diesel electric locomotive and some passenger cars.
The train cars are not accessible.
The parking lot is large enough for any RV. Museum