The large summer house that the Marquis de Mores, built high on a hill overlooking the Little Missouri River valley and the town of Medora was called a chateau by the townspeople even though it more closely resembles a barracks. The Mores family enjoyed inviting their family and friends to the untamed west for hunting trips and to experience rough living in a rustic setting.
In 1921 the eldest son gave the caretaker permission to run a boardinghouse in the chateau so even though it suffered from lack of upkeep the chateau survived while much of the town did not. The chateau was turned over to the state of North Dakota in 1936 on the condition that it be maintained and opened to the public. It was restored from 1937 to 1941 by the Civilian Conservation Corps.