Bisbee was founded as a copper, gold, and silver mining town in 1880. 8 billion pounds of copper, 102 million ounces of silver, and 2.8 million ounces of gold were pulled from the ground but by 1974 all mining ceased as it became increasingly unprofitable. The town steadily lost population but was saved by a growing influx of artists and retirees who helped make it into a tourist destination. Galleries, antique stores and unique gift shops line Main street. Murals and graffiti art decorate many buildings and walls.
We were able to visit the ground level of the museum only because the elevator is broken and is not likely to be fixed in the near future. The main entrance has steps so call for access or have one of your party alert the staff to open the side door. Follow the sidewalk to the west side of the building for the accessible entrance. The museum has very good exhibits. The ground floor exhibits are centered on the people of Bisbee, how they adapted to living in a mining town and the conflicts between the unions and the mine owners.
Bisbee like many mining towns is very hilly but the main street is almost level. The sidewalks and curb cuts are in good condition and about half of the businesses have accessible entrances.
Most of the parking lots are small and there’s little on-street parking. We parked in the large Copper Queen Plaza Convention Center Lot on the east end of town. A sign with parking prices was turned face down so we didn’t have to pay but the RV price is $15.00 a day. Museum 31.44189, -109.91449