In 1805 Lewis and Clark stayed 10 days in the Chinook Indian village before deciding to winter over at Fort Clatsop where elk and deer were more plentiful. Generations of Chinooks spent every summer in the village but by the 1850s European diseases had decimated their population and the McGowan family settled on the land and started salmon cannery. A small town grew up around the cannery. The church is the only building still standing at the site.
The Middle Village-Station Camp Interpretive site has a 1/3 mile loop trail with signs and overlooks. The trail is crushed rock which is loose in spots so pushing along is somewhat difficult.
The parking lot is large enough for small RVs. Larger RVs can park on the opposite side of US 101. Park