In the early 1900s, Copper Queen Mine was the most productive copper mine in Arizona. After underground mining removed all of the high grade ore Phelps Dodge Corporation, the owner of the mine, began open pit mining of the lower grade ore. The pit mining operation, which started in 1950 and ended in 1974, left a 900’ deep hole with a small pool of water at the bottom. An overlook with interpretive signs allows visitors to look into the pit.
The overlook is accessible. Safety features include a guard rail made from pipe and a chain link fence. The rail has openings to access a sidewalk bordered by the chain link fence. The openings are narrow so wide wheelchairs and scooters may be blocked from the sidewalk. The chain link fence has holes cut out at adult and child level for an unobstructed view of the pit.
The parking lot is large enough for any RV. Both access points have a dip where the road meets the lot so go slowly.