St. Louis hosted the World’s Fair in 1904 and the Palace of Fine Arts , now the Art Museum, was the only building designed to be a permanent structure. The museum has a wide range of artwork including mummies ; medieval weaponry ; American and Europe paintings; Asian art ; and furniture and decorative arts. The collections are a little jumbled up right now because of construction on a new addition.
Everything is accessible. A small elevator ,operated by museum personnel , accesses the medieval armor and weapons. Hold the bell down for a few seconds if nobody shows up after a reasonable period of waiting.
Parking is very limited. The two small lots fill quickly and are not large enough for RVs. Parking is available along the street in front of the museum but it’s a long push up the hill. Parking in the lot behind the visitor center and taking the tram might be the best option. Museum