The Toltec Mounds site was inhabited from A.D. 650 to 1050 by Native Americans of the Plum Bayou culture. It functioned as a religious and social center featuring a temple and plazas and was the largest Plum Bayou site with 18 mounds enclosed by an earthen embankment and an oxbow lake. Most of the mounds have been destroyed by modern farming practices leaving only three intact.
The park has a small visitor center with exhibits and a short video. A paved trail with interpretive signs makes a loop through the site. A slightly longer gravel trail provides addition information. The park is free with a small fee for guided tours on Saturdays.
The visitor center and paved trail are accessible. The gravel trail may be accessible but it was closed due to flooding when we visited so we didn’t try it. The boardwalk section of the paved trail was flooded too. The tram used for the non-walking guided tour is not wheelchair accessible.