John McMurran, a Pennsylvania native, moved to Natchez in the mid 1820, established a successful law practice, and married Mary Louisa Turner, the daughter of a prominent local family. By the mid 1800s he owned or had an interest in five plantations and 325 slaves. The family’s town home, on the outskirts of Natchez, was finished in 1849. It sits on a rise overlooking a expanse of grass and wildflowers and includes 80 acres of land, two large brick buildings where 25 slaves lived, a barn, carriage house, and a small building with exhibits about slavery and a room furnished to depict a typical home of an enslaved family.
The family fortune was lost in the Civil War and the house was sold in 1865 to Elizabeth and George Davis. It was uninhabited until 1900 when Davis’s grandson and his wife moved in. The Davis family sold the house in 1976 to Callon Petroleum Company who subsequently sold it the park service in 1990. The original McMurran family furnishings remained in the house through all of the sales. The house has never been updated or remodeled but has been kept in excellent condition. Guided tours are given on the hour. Admission to the property is free but a fee is charged for the tours. American the Beautiful passes are not accepted however US residents 62 and over receive a 50% discount.
The accessible parking spot is paved. Paved trails link the main buildings. A ramp accesses the first floor of the mansion. The exhibit building has a ramp. The barn and carriage house do not have paved walkways or easy access.