Friday, November 6, 2015

Route 66–Oklahoma City Sights


  It’s hard to believe that 20 years have passed since the bombing of the Alfred P Murrah building and the senseless death of 168 people. It will be forever seared into the memory of all of us who heard the news reports on April 19, 1995.


   The memorial with empty chairs to signify the location of each person who died is very moving. There’s also a museum which we didn’t visit. Long ramps provide wheelchair access to all levels of the memorial. Parking is available along the street.


   Oklahoma City has a mini version of San Antonio’s riverwalk. Bricktown, a former warehouse district, is now an entertainment  center with hotels, restaurants, clubs, shopping, and a baseball stadium. The Bricktown Canal Trail is about one mile round trip and connects to  the Oklahoma River Trails for an additional 13 miles. The canal trail is for walking only but bikes and skates are allowed on the river trail. Both trails are paved and almost level. RVs can be parked in the large lot south of the Bass Pro Shops.


  At the south end of the canal trail the Centennial Land Run Monument depicts the opening up of more than 2 million acres of unassigned land in Indian Territory to eager settlers. 36 statues are included in the monument with plans to add 7 more. It’s an amazing piece of art.





   Oklahoma City is home to some wonderful buildings. Some are vacant but plans are in the works to save as many as possible.

   The Sunshine Laundry was opened in 1929 and closed in the mid 1980s. This magnificent neon sign is on the roof of the two story building and appears to be in wonderful condition.


  The Milk Bottle Grocery sits on a little island that used to be a streetcar stop. The building is from 1930, the bottle from 1948. Over the years it’s been a grocery store, a fruit stand, a laundry service and a barbecue stand


  The Jewel Theater, built in 1931, was one of three theaters built in Oklahoma City's black community at a time when everything in the city was segregated. It closed in the late 1970s.


   The little art deco building housing Master Cleaners was built in 1946 and restored to it’s original appearance in 2006.


  Another art deco gem, the Oklahoma City Depot, was built in 1934 and is undergoing renovation to become a transportation hub for bicycles, streetcars and commuter trains


  Built in 1958, the Gold Dome was the fifth geodesic dome constructed in the world. It served as a bank until 2001 and is now empty.


     The Tower Theater built in 1931 is being renovated.



No comments:

Post a Comment