A few old signs on the outskirts of Oklahoma City – check out the cowboy hat on top of the Western Motel sign.
The Overholser Bridge was built in 1925 but by the 1950s an increase in traffic and wider cars made it unsafe and a four lane highway with a wider bridge was built slightly to the north. The Overholser Bridge was completely refurbished in 2011.
Route 66 Park is small park on the shore of Lake Overholser that has a playground, picnic tables, a mile long, paved walking trail with wetlands and interpretive signs, and a plaza with signs about all of the states that Route 66 runs through. The parking lot is large enough for any RV.
The Yukon's Best Flour Mill sign is big- 42’ wide by 55’ tall. The sign, originally installed in the 1940s, had deteriorated and needed to be replaced. The people of Yukon held fundraisers to have a new sign with LED lights installed and it’s once again glowing red and white every night.
Side trip – the Express Clydesdales barn is just three miles north of Route 66. The Clydesdales have participated in the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade in New York City, the Chicago St. Patrick's Day Parade and the Rose Parade in Pasadena, representing Express Ranches and the Express Employment Company.
The beautiful, very clean barn is opened to visitors every day except Monday. The Clydesdales, unusual because they’re black with white blazes, are curious and friendly. There’s not much information about the horses or anything else to do at the site but it’s fun to see the horses close up. They’re enormous!
The parking lot is fairly small without much room for turning around.
The Canadian County Historical Museum in El Reno is housed in the Rock Island Depot and several other historic buildings that have been relocated.The museum complex is a repository of everything that the residents of El Reno have collected over the years. The depot exhibits are self guided but a guided tour is necessary to see the other buildings which are kept locked. Admission is free.
Several buildings do not have ramps and are not accessible. RVs can be parked along the street.
The Cherokee Trading Post has been a family run business since the 1950s. It was originally along Route 66 but moved closer to the interstate in 1963.
This bridge over the Canadian River is almost 3/4 of a mile long. It was built in 1933 and has 38 short trusses called ponies.
Much of the road in this part of Oklahoma is the original cement, two lane from the 1930s. It makes you appreciate smooth asphalt. babump,babump,babump :-D
Lucille’s Place was owned and operated by Ditmores and the Waldroups before Lucille and Carl Hamons bought it in 1941. Lucille managed the gas station and motel for almost 60 years and raised three children in the small living quarters above the station. The exterior has been restored. The parking area is large enough for RVs.