Few people lived in the San Ramon Valley before Interstate 680 was completed 1966. At that time the land supported cattle and sheep ranches and was planted in hay, grain, and walnut and fruit trees. Now it’s a tangle of suburban streets housing people who commute to San Jose to work in Silicon Valley.
The museum is in a restored 1891 train depot built for the small town of Danville. It was moved 600’ in 1996 to it’s present location on Railroad Ave. when it became a museum. The exhibits of nicely arranged donated items cover the early history of the area. Volunteer docents give guided tours.
The main entrance and admission desk is on the first floor. There’s a step but no ramp so either call to make arrangements or knock on the door. A ramp in the rear of the building accesses a train car display and also goes to an entrance which must be unlocked for wheelchair access.