Less than 1/2 mile from the museum is where Old Man House, the largest longhouse in Washington state once stood. It was the home of Chief Seattle and Chief Kitsap and the location of the winter home of the Squamish tribe for at least 2000 years. In 1870, after Seattle died, the federal government burned the longhouse in an effort to force the people off the coast and into farming. The Squamish rebuilt the village but in 1904 the U.S. War Department took the land to build fortifications. Even though nothing was ever built the land was not retuned to the Squamish but sold to a developer in 1950. The former longhouse site is covered with tract housing but a tiny part is reserved as a park.
The museum is small with beautiful exhibits and artifacts.
Everything is accessible.
Small RVs will fit in the larger parking lot. Wheelchair visitors will have to go out on the street and enter through the smaller parking lot (where the handicapped parking spaces are located) to avoid a set of steps. There’s very little parking at the site of Old Man House so walk or visit with a small vehicle only. Museum